Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Science Fiction & Fantasy in Other Media

It’s hard to only name five because SFF is my favourite genre! There are so many films I could name. If I was listing all my favourites, this would be a really long list. Such tough decisions, but here are the ones I have picked (in no particular order, because please don’t ask me to rank them too!). T5W is a group hosted on Goodreads, if you’d like to participate check it out here.

collagestarwars

Star Wars (films)

There are varying opinions on all the Star Wars films. Some have received a lot of hatred (the prequels in particular) but I’ve loved all of them to varying degrees and for different reasons. Yes, some of the dialogue is pretty lame and there have been some strange plot/character decisions at times, but I can’t help but love these films.

expanse_main

The Expanse (TV show)

I haven’t read the books this TV show is based on. Having watched the first two series I’m really invested in the story and characters. Visually it’s great, but there’s a really intriguing plot and cast of characters too.

collagerings

The Lord of the Rings and Hobbit (films)

Well, how could these not make the list? The Lord of the Rings is so spectacularly filmed and the music is spot on. I was super excited when they decided to adapt The Hobbit too and was not disappointed (although maybe it was stretched out a little).

stardust

Stardust (film)

I love the light-hearted humour in this film. It’s been one of my favourites for years and always manages to put a smile on my face.

7555

Once Upon a Time (TV show)

It dipped a bit in the later series, but I devoured this show when I first started watching it. It has its faults, but it’s really creative and I like how they manage to tie together so many characters and tales.

Special mentions: Harry Potter/Fantastic Beasts (love these, but thought they were rather an obvious choice!), X-Men (X2 and First Class are my favourites), Hunger Games, new Planet of the Apes trilogy, Inception, I could go on…

4 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Science Fiction & Fantasy in Other Media

Leave a comment